The world's best public library

Four libraries from respectively Australia, the US and Denmark has been nominated by an international judge committee for the Public Library of the Year Award 2016.

The winner of the award will be revealed on Monday August 15 2016, at the IFLA WLIC 2016 in Columbus, Ohio, USA. The award session will take place in the Columbus Metropolitan Library, Main Library, Larry Black Auditorium from 4.45pm - 6pm. The Danish Library Association will be present at the award ceremony, and at IFLA WLIC 2016 in general.

The 4 nominees are:

  • Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA
  • Dokk1, Aarhus, Danmark
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australa
  • Success Public Library, Australia

See reasons for nomination of the four libraries on the Modelprogramme’s web page.

More information about the prize and the 4 nominees.
The winner of the ‘Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ must be a newly build library or refurbished in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. The opening of the new library must have taken place in the period between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016. The prize is for $5000.

Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA

Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark

Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australien

Success Public Library, Australien


Danmarks Biblioteksforening

Vartov, Farvergade 27D, 2. sal
1463 København K
Find os på kort
Cookie- og privatlivspolitik

Telefontid: man-fre 10-15
Telefon +45 3325 0935
Fax +45 3325 7900

SE/CVR: 55618410
VAT: DK55618410
EAN: 5797200048110
Bankkonto: 9056 4585 947 496
Swift: SPNODK22
IBAN: DK4090564585947496

Følg Danmarks Biblioteksforening

Direktørens blog